Harold Isaacs Graduate Student Paper Competition

Established in honor of the founder of the association, the Harold Isaacs Award is presented to the author(s) of the best graduate student paper presented at the annual meeting.  The award is designed to encourage high quality research and writing among graduate students who have an interest in Global South studies.


To be eligible for submission, a paper must not be published nor accepted for publication elsewhere. Papers must be student-authored; they may be authored by a single student or co- authored by more than one student, but may not be co- authored by a faculty member or other non-students.  Papers must not exceed 10,000 words (including all notes and references), and should include a brief abstract.


To be eligible for the award, the author(s) must present the paper at a session during the annual conference. To be considered, (1) electronically submit a copy of the manuscript; (2) a cover letter specifying that the paper is to be considered in the Harold Isaacs Graduate Student Paper Competition; and (3) a short letter from each author’s advisor certifying the person’s status as a student and including some brief comments about the research to the chair of the Harold Isaacs Award committee, who is the AGSS Executive Council member who holds the position of Chair of the Teaching Committee.  For the 2020 award, these requirements must be received by the chair of the committee by 1 September 2020.


The winner will receive a $400 cash award, a plaque of recognition, and the opportunity to publish the paper in the Journal of Global South Studies.  It is expected that the award winner will serve on the Harold Isaacs Award Committee for the year following receipt of the award.


Isaacs Award Committee


Chair of the Committee – Dr. Lauren Eastwood – lauren.eastwood@plattsburgh.edu

Committee Member – TBA

Committee Member – TBA

2021 Graduate Student Committee Member – TBA


Previous Winners of the Isaacs Award


2001 – Naveed S. Sheikh

2002 – Mueni Wa Muiu

2003 – Kristin Tassin

2004 – Victoria Stanski

2005 – Nathaniel Kwabo

2006 – Christian Noll

2007 – Daniel Ogbaharya

2008 – John Agbonifo

2010 – Melissa T. Williams

2011– Maurice D. Smith