Wednesday, April 26th, 2017

Cecil B. Currey 2015 Book Award by ATWS

Official Announcement The Cecil Currey ATWS Book Award Committee comprised of the Chair, Dr. William P. Head, and Members, Dr. Paul Magnarella, Dr. Philip Aka, and Dr. Paul Rodell as is its mandate reviewed three very excellent books to determine the recipient of the2015 Currey Award. These books included J. Patrice McSherry, Chilean New Song: The Political Power of Music, 1960s—1973, Temple University Press; Kema Irogbe, The Effects of Globalization in Latin America, Africa, and Asia, Lexington Books; and Jie Lu, Varieties of Governance in China: Migration and Institutional Change in Chinese Villages, Oxford University Press.

After reading each book carefully and discussing the relative merits of each one, the four committee members ranked each book. All of them were very well researched and written.After much consideration the majority of the committee members selected Dr. McSherry’s book Chilean New Song as the winner of the 2015 award. We were all very impressed with the other two books and we wish all the authors the best of luck with the sale and review of their books. It is the opinion of the committee that these important works will have a very positive impact on the study of the developing world.

Bill Head


The Toyin Falola Africa Book Award, in honor of Toyin Falola, one of Africa’s outstanding historians and intellectuals. The award is given for the best book on Africa published in 2015-2016. Book submissions must be published in 2016 through June 15, 2017. The deadline for the submission of entries is June 30, 2017. The award will not automatically be given each year, but only whenever the committee decides that a book of considerable merit has been submitted. ATWS members are encouraged to enter their publications into the competition. The recipient will receive a plaque, citation, and a $500 cash award.

Qualifications are:

  1. Only monographs and studies will be considered. Please do not submit anthologies or edited works.
  2. An individual who wishes to be considered must send a letter of application to the committee chair, Dr. José Arimatéia da Cruz
  3. Publishers are permitted to nominate an author’s book as long as the above rules are observed.
  4. An individual seeking the award is responsible for sending a copy of his/her book to each member of the committee.

Committee members are:

Dr. José Arimatéia da Cruz, Chair of the Committee, Department of Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science, Armstrong State University, Savannah, GA 31419-1997. E-mail:

Dr. James T. Gire, Department of Psychology, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA 24450. E-mail:

Dr. Ishmael Munene, Center for Education Excellence, Northern Arizona University, Flagg Staff, AZ 86011-5774. E-mail:

Lawrence Dunbar Reddick Scholarship Award

Named in honor of the late Lawrence Dunbar Reddick, professor of history and friend of several post-colonial leaders, the Reddick Award is given annually to the best article to appear in the Journal of Third World Studies, the flagship journal of the ATWS. The award was established during the ATWS presidency of John Mukum Mbaku as a result of the initiative and funding provided by A.B. Assensoh, Professor Emeritus, Indiana University, Bloomington and Yvette Alex-Assensoh, Vice-President for Equity and Inclusion, University of Oregon. A selection committee is named each year to pick the recipient. Dr. Reddick, a prolific scholar who wrote the first authorized biography of the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. {Crusader Without Violence}, died in 1995 in New Orleans, Louisiana.  A selection committee is named each year to pick the recipient.


At its 2001 meeting the Association of Third World Studies (ATWS) instituted The Harold Isaacs Award competition for graduate students. The Award is named in honor of the Association’s founding president and aimed toward supporting research focusing on the various problems facing “Third World” peoples. The Award will be made to the top graduate paper to be presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The Award is designed to encourage high quality research and writing among graduate students who have an interest in Third World studies. All candidates MUST have their papers accepted for presentation at the meeting in order to be eligible for the competition AND they MUST be present at the 2015 ATWS meeting to deliver their paper. The winner will be presented with a $400 check award and plaque at the annual meeting’s banquet. Other selected graduate student papers may also be presented with Certificates of Excellence AND they must be present at the 2015 ATWS meeting to deliver their paper.

The selection procedure is as follows: students will submit abstracts of their papers according to established procedures of the Association (see Call for Papers on ATWS website, Paper submissions MUST follow “Guidelines for Submission of Manuscripts” for Journal of Third World Studies (JTWS). Click-on Journal of Third World Studies on the ATWS website. Upon acceptance for presentation at the 2015 meeting, the student will send an electronic copy of the completed paper to the Education Committee Chair. The deadline for receipt of the papers is 30 SEPTEMBER 2015. The current chair is Dr. Mueni wa Muiu, Associate Professor of Political Science, Department of Social Sciences, Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC 27110. E-mail: and two other ATWS members will compose the Graduate Student Award Selection Subcommittee.

Interested graduate students must submit papers that (1) demonstrate originality in terms of research area and/or interpretation, 2) contribute to the intellectual debates within the subject area in which they are framed, and 3) present well-substantiated arguments. Please note that submissions should be near ready for publication. The winning paper will be published in the Journal of Third World Studies after any revisions suggested by the Review Subcommittee.

For more information, please check out the ATWS website at:

ATWS Membership

Membership is open to any person interested in Third World Studies.
Membership benefits include an annual subscription to Journal of Third
World Studies (JTWS), the ATWS Newsletter, and an invitation to
participate in the annual meeting at a reduced registration rate.

Membership Fee Levels

* $30 for student membership
* $30 for third world resident
* $30 for retiree membership
* $60 for regular membership
* $90 for husband & wife membership
* $75 for sustainer membership
* $100 for patron membership
* $150 for third world resident life membership
* $400 for individual life membership
* $600 for husband & wife life membership
* $1000 for institutional membership

We will include your name in our membership directory once we receive your membership dues. Please make checks payable to: Association of Third World studies, Inc., and send to:

Association of Third World Studies
C/o, Dr. Olufunke A. Fontenot (Treasurer)
103 Putters Court
Macon, GA 31220