Toyin Falola Africa Book Award


The Toyin Falola ATWS Africa Book Award, in honor of Toyin Falola, one of Africa’s outstanding historians and intellectuals, was initially given for the best book on Africa published in 2005-2006. The first award was presented at the Twenty-Fourth Annual Meeting of ATWS, November 2-4, 2006, Winston -Salem State University.

Book submissions must be published in 2008 through May 15, 2009. Deadline for submission of entries is June 30, 2009. The award will not automatically be given each year, but only whenever the committee decides that a book of considerable merit has been submitted. ATWS members are encouraged to enter their publications into the competition. The recipient will receive a plaque, citation, and a $500 cash award

Qualifications are:

1. Only monographs and studies will be considered. Please do not submit anthologies or edited works.
2. An individual who wishes to be considered must send a letter of application to the committee chair, Dr. Abdul Karim Bangura, The African Institution
7532 Eighth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20012 E-mail:
3. Publishers are permitted to nominate an author’s book as long as the above rules are observed.
4. An individual seeking the award is responsible for sending a copy of his/her book to each member of the committee.

Committee members are:

* Dr. Abdul Karim Bangura, committee chair, The African Institution, 7532 Eighth St, NW, Washington, DC 20012 E-mail:
* Dr. James T. Gire, Department of Psychology, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA 24450. E-mail:
* Dr. Jose Arimateia da Cruz, Department of Criminal Justice, Social and Political Science, Armstrong Atlantic State University, Savannah, GA 31419-1997. E-mail:
* Dr. Ishmael Munene, Center for Education Excellence, Northern Arizona  University, Flagg Staff, AZ 86011-5774. E-mail:

Lawrence Dunbar Reddick Scholarship Award

Named in honor of the late Lawrence Dunbar Reddick, professor of history and friend of several post-colonial leaders, the Reddick Award is given annually to the best article to appear in the Journal of Third World Studies, the flagship journal of the ATWS. The award was established during the ATWS presidency of John Mukum Mbaku as a result of the initiative and funding provided by A.B. Assensoh and Yvette Alex-Assensoh, both of Indiana University, Bloomington. A selection committee is named each year to pick the recipient.

Dr. Reddick, a prolific scholar who wrote the first authorized biography of the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. (Crusader Without Violence), died a few years ago in New Orleans, Louisiana.


At its 2001 meeting the Association of Third World Studies (ATWS) instituted The Harold Isaacs Award competition for graduate students. The Award is named in honor of the Association’s founding president and aimed toward supporting research focusing on the various problems facing “Third World” peoples. The Award will be made to the top graduate student paper to be presented at the annual meeting of the Association. The Award is designed to encourage high quality research and writing among graduate students who have an interest in Third World studies. All candidates MUST have their papers accepted for presentation at the meeting in order to be eligible for the competition AND they must be present at the 2009 ATWS meeting to deliver their paper. The winner will be presented with a $400 check award at the annual meeting’s banquet. Other selected graduate student papers will also be presented with Certificates of Excellence AND they must be present at the 2009 ATWS meeting to deliver their paper.

The selection procedure is as follows: students will submit abstracts of their papers according to established procedures of the Association (see Call for Papers above). Paper submissions MUST follow “Guidelines for Submission of Manuscripts” for Journal of Third World Studies (JTWS). Click-on Journal of Third World Studies at Upon acceptance for presentation at the meeting, the student will send three copies of the completed paper to the Education Committee Chair. The deadline for receipt of the papers is 30 SEPTEMBER, 2009. The current chair is Dr. S. Lily Mendoza, Department of Rhetoric, Communication, and Journalism, Oakland University 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, MI. 48309-4401 .E-mail:  Dr. Mendoza and two other ATWS members will compose the Graduate Student Award Selection Subcommittee.

Interested graduate students must submit papers that 1) demonstrate originality in terms of research area and/or interpretation, 2) contribute to the intellectual debates within the subject area in which they are framed, and 3) present well-substantiated arguments. Please note that submissions should be near ready for publication. The winning paper will be published in the Journal of Third World Studies after any revisions suggested by the Review Subcommittee.

For more information, please check out the ATWS website at:

Membership is open to any person interested in Third World Studies.
Membership benefits include an annual subscription to Journal of Third
World Studies (JTWS), the ATWS Newsletter, and an invitation to
participate in the annual meeting at a reduced registration rate.

Membership Fee Levels

* $30 for student membership
* $30 for third world resident
* $30 for retiree membership
* $60 for regular membership
* $90 for husband & wife membership
* $75 for sustainer membership
* $100 for patron membership
* $150 for third world resident life membership
* $400 for individual life membership
* $600 for husband & wife life membership
* $1000 for institutional membership

We will include your name in our membership directory once we receive your membership dues. Please make checks payable to: Association of Third World studies, Inc., and send to:
Dr. Doyin Coker-Kolo
Treasurer, ATWS
School of Education,
P.O. Box 1002,
Millersville University,
Millersville, PA 17551